Club Rugby
  • Studio 44
  • Marstons
Image for Bowmore wins gold at the International Spirits Challenge 2019

Bowmore wins gold at the International Spirits Challenge 2019

15-Year-Old and 18-Year-Old whiskys awarded gold medals

Bowmore has been awarded gold medals for its 15-Year-Old and 18-Year-Old in the Whisky category at the International Spirits Challenge (ISC) 2019. Such an accolade from the ISC is regarded to be the most respected and sought after in the drinks industry, due to the stringent nature of the judging process.

The Bowmore 15-Year-Old and 18-Year-Old passed a scrupulous blind tasting by a world-renowned expert panel of specialist judges to beat strong competition to win the prestigious accolade of gold. The quality of Bowmore’s craftsmanship and liquid is reflected in this superb result.

Matured first in bourbon barrels then Oloroso casks, there's no finer example of a sherry cask finish than the Bowmore 15-Year-Old. It's the final three years spent in Oloroso sherry casks that gives Bowmore 15-Year-Old the rich, deep colour and robust warming finish.

Cosseted away in the finest, hand-selected oak casks and allowed to mature at its own sedate pace, the Bowmore 18-Year-Old is one of the most remarkable, perfectly balanced single malt scotch whiskies of its kind. One of the rarest whiskies, bottles of Bowmore 18-Year-Old may be limited, but there's no end to its enjoyment.

Awards Organiser Justin Smith said: “This ISC grows every year, with producers entering a diverse mix of spirits from across the globe who are looking to benchmark their spirit at the very highest level”.

Chiara Giovanacci, International Marketing Manager Malts for Beam Suntory, commented: “Both the Bowmore 15-year-old and Bowmore 18-year-old are exceptional whiskies meticulously matured and sitting proudly at the heart of our portfolio. To be recognised by such a prestigious and respected awards organisation demonstrates their qualities as two of the finest aged single malts in the world.”

Now in its 24th year, the ISC is the premier event in promoting outstanding quality spirits from across the globe. The competition is founded on a rigorous and independent judging process, which serves to encourage the high calibre of spirits and designs entered into the competition each year. Receiving more than 1,700 entries from nearly 70 countries worldwide, the ISC is a truly global competition. It is supported by many of the world's leading spirits producers as the international standard for quality and excellence.

For the Tasting Awards, a highly controlled operation is held over fifteen days of intense blind tastings by panels of more than 50 respected and experienced industry professionals. Samples are delivered to the judging area in flights of numbered tasting glasses to ensure the accuracy of the blind tasting. Each judge assesses products according to their age, region and variety which is then determined by the entrant and verified by the chairman.

Full results have been released and published on the International Spirits Challenge (ISC) website, with the full list of medal winners to be published in the ISC annual results magazine in August.

Related articles